Oil Free Pesto? (Raw, Vegan, Paleo)

Can a pesto be good with the absence of oil? I wondered if anyone had ever done it, and if it could everything an oily pesto is and more. And guess what? I found one. If you’re looking for a good dinner recipe that can be made in 10 minute or less, look no further…

The Detoxinista is a treasure trove of healthy recipes, and this is one of them. The recipe can be found here. It is so tasty!

Tips:

  • This recipe is rather tangy. If you want a more mellow taste, then use more zuchini. I used about 1 1/4 cup instead of one cup.
  • If you have trouble finding zuchini, then your store may have a different name for it. At my local Sprouts Farmers Market, it’s called Italian Squash.
  • Get creative with your plate! I added shaved baby carrots, dehydrated tomatoes (sun dried tomatoes will also work), and avocado. You can also top with nuts and if you are not vegan, add chicken. Yum!
Fresh basil from Whole Foods

Fresh basil from Whole Foods

Basil, walnuts, zucchini, water, lemon juice, salt into the food processor.

Basil, walnuts, zucchini, water, lemon juice, salt into the food processor.

The pesto got all over my food processor! I set it on high for about 1-2 minutes

The pesto got all over my food processor! I set it on high for about 1-2 minutes

I got my Julienne tool from Bed Bath and Beyond for under $10.

I got my Julienne tool from Bed Bath and Beyond for under $10.

Simply set the zucchini on a cutting board and run the julienne tool over it.

Simply set the zucchini on a cutting board and run the julienne tool over it.

Viola! 5 Minute Basil and Walnut Peso with zucchini noodles, shaved baby carrots, sun dried tomatoes, and avocados.

Viola! 5 Minute Basil and Walnut Peso with zucchini noodles, shaved baby carrots, sun dried tomatoes, and avocados.

One comment

Leave a Reply

