Frozen Mango Cheesecake (Raw, Vegan, Paleo)

IMG_2905[1]

Mangoes bring me back to my childhood. When I was a kid, my mom didn’t believe in desserts. Fruit was our dessert. And mango was my favorite. My mom would buy a whole box of manila mangoes from the local market in San Francisco when it was on sale. And we would have mango for weeks.

Last week, I saw boxes of mangoes on sale at Costco and I couldn’t help it. I bought a whole box for myself. Only 8 mangoes is more than one reasonable person can eat in a week. So when they became ripe yesterday, and I still had 4 left, I knew I had to transform them into something special. And so the idea of a mango cheesecake came into being. A nutty crust made of walnuts and pecans, and topped with a fluffy mango and cashew cream. Yum! Too good to be healthy! But it is!

Frozen Mango Cheesecake

Ingredients for Crust:

  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup pecans
  • 1 cup dates
  • 1 pinch of salt

Ingredients for Filling:

  • 1 cup of cashews (soaked for 2 hours in warm water)
  • 1/8 cup agave (optional, you should add this by taste)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped mangoes (up to 2 cups)
  • Pinch of salt

Instructions for crust:

  • Add all ingredients and process until the crust clumps in the processor
  • Press into an 8×8 pan and set in the freezer at least 1 hour

IMG_2865IMG_2866IMG_2867IMG_2868

Instructions for the mango filling:

  • Add the cashews, coconut oil, lemon juice, and vanilla extract and process
  • Add the mangoes. Start with 1 cup and process. If the taste of mangoes is weak, then continue to add mangoes up to 2 cups and continue processing until smooth.
  • Taste the mixture. If it needs sweetness, then add the agave, otherwise omit
  • Process until the mixture is soft and smooth
  • Place on top of the crust and set in the freezer overnight for the best results.
  • When serving, the mango filling may be stiff. If that is the case, when you can serve upside down for those eat with a fork.
Skin and cut the mangoes. I used a little less than 2 large mangoes

Skin and cut the mangoes. I used a little less than 2 large mangoes

Put the cashews, vanilla extract, coconut oil and lemon juice into the food processor

Put the cashews, vanilla extract, coconut oil and lemon juice into the food processor

After processing, the mix should look like this

After processing, the mix should look like this

Add the mangoes. Don't forget to taste!

Add the mangoes and the pinch of salt. Don’t forget to taste!

Add the agave if necessary. I added 1/8 cup

Add the agave if necessary. I added 1/8 cup

Spread the mango filling on the crust

Spread the mango filling on the crust

Mango Cheesecake

Mango Cheesecake

2 comments

Leave a Reply

