Oat and Almond “Wheat Thins” (Raw, Vegan)

Since changing my diet, there have been very few things that I miss. But one thing that I do miss terribly are Wheat Thins. Especially when those lovely crackers go on sale at Safeway for $1.88 a box, like the last time I was there. I swear that my hand almost reached out and grabbed one before I could stop myself. Honestly it’s kind of scary that these crackers are so cheap…

Anyhow, I have been looking around and found several Wheat Thin recipes that are raw, but none of them worked for me. I made several with very disappointing results. Here I will show you the recipe I developed. The only thing I am still working on is the seasoning. Therefore I will leave that part of the recipe up to you. Otherwise these crackers have a wonderful texture without using too many nuts or flax seeds.

Oat and Almond “Wheat Thins” (makes roughly 3 cups of crackers)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oats ground into flour
  • 1 1/2 cup almond flour made from almond pulp
  • 1/8 cup flax seeds
  • 5/8 cup filtered water
  • 1 1/2 tbsp of agave
  • 1 to 2 tbsp seasoning (I recommend more rather than less)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp of salt, plus extra for sprinkling

Instructions:

  • Place the filtered water in a small bowl and add the flax seeds. Cover and let sit for 4-6 hours.
  • Grind the oats into a flour.
  • Place the oats and almond flour into a large bowl.
  • Add the flax seed “gel” into the flour and mix until combined.
  • Add the agave and oil and combine.
  • Add the seasoning including the salt and combine.
  • Add the sesame seeds and fold in.
  • Place the mixture on a piece of parchment paper. Fold the paper in half over the mixture. (The parchment paper should be double the size of the working surface.)
  • Use a rolling pin and roll the mixture to the desired thickness. (You can choose how thin or thick you want the crackers to be.)
  • Score the dough into the size of crackers you desire. I recommend using a pizza cutter if you have one.
  • Sprinkle salt on top of the dough.
  • Place the crackers in the dehydrator. You do not need to use teflex sheets.
  • Dehydrate at 145 degrees for 1 hour.
  • If the crackers are still not dry enough for your taste, then after one hour, reduce to 105 degrees and continue to dehydrate until done.

Enjoy these with:

  • Almond butter
  • Hummus
  • Jam or jellies
  • Any other dips you would like
Flax seeds soaked

Flax seeds soaked

Oats, almond flour and flax seed gel mixed

Oats, almond flour and flax seed gel mixed

Dough after rolling

Dough after rolling

Crackers in the dehydrator

Crackers in the dehydrator

IMG_3193

Crackers with homemade almond butter

Crackers with homemade almond butter

Leave a Reply

